top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureWendy

Week 2 & Week 3

One week left till the beginning of October. Time sure has passed by fast and I have not gotten a chance to explore much of Hong Kong yet. During these past two weeks, I spent most of the time adjusting to school at CityU and focusing on my courses. Moreover, I even got very sick. Thus, I felt exhausted and unmotivated to go out. However, I still had the urge to go out and have fun.


Courses at CityU

Attending classes at CityU is very different from UH Manoa. Some differences are

1. Almost every course are 3 hours long with a 10-minute break

2. For each course, you only need to attend once a week

3. There's hardly any examples and assignments assign for students to better understand the concepts. Therefore, students NEED to self-study.

4. Lectures are more of a one-way teaching method, which the professors will lecture for the entire class. It is rare to see professors asking their students if they understand or see students raising their hands to ask a question.


Mid Autumn Festival at Student Residence

To celebrate Mid Autumn with all the hall residences, the school planned this event for us. Me and my friends had a blast on that day. There were so many booths set up that provided games, foods, entertainment and much more for everyone to enjoy.


Mid Autumn Festival at ZhongShan

This year Mid Autumn Festival is on September 13, 2019. Since my roommate and I had no classes on Friday, we both took a ferry on Thursday night to Zhongshan. Coming back to Mainland China to celebrate this event reminds me of the olden time when I last celebrated Mid Autumn Festival with my relatives. There was so much food we could eat, the excitement from lighting up firecrackers, and the enjoyment of talking to friends and families.


Hiking at Lion Rock

To end off with week 3, my friends and I decided to hike the Lion Rock to relieve our stress from school. This hike was fairly easy except the part when we had to hiked on the very steep hill. The hardest part was walking on the steep hill for one hour to get to the starting point of Lion Rock. From there, we had to continue to hike for another 2.5 hours to reach to the peak. Once we reached to the peak, our legs were getting sore, but the view was spectacular.




40 views

Recent Posts

See All

My Thoughts on Study Abroad

Living in Hong Kong is always something I want to do. As a kid, I had always travel back to Mainland China every summer to visit my relatives and to have fun. However, I seldom got the chance to explo

Semester Ended Unexpectedly

Sadly to say that my study abroad at the City University of Hong Kong has ended more than a month early due to the mass protest. The protest had gotten out of hand to the point where the school campus

Feeling Homesick

As the semester is almost ending and finals are slowly creeping in, I have started to feel homesick. Although I got to interact with new people from all around the world, I miss the interaction betwee

bottom of page