top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureWendy

Feeling Homesick

As the semester is almost ending and finals are slowly creeping in, I have started to feel homesick. Although I got to interact with new people from all around the world, I miss the interaction between my friends and family. Doing a voice call or messaging with them is not enough, it just makes me miss them more. Luckily, I do have close relatives living nearby. I can always take a short trip back to ZhongShan and stay over their home for the weekend. The way they take care of me reminds of how my parents would do. Thus, going back to ZhongShan makes me feel at home.


Not only do I miss my family and friends, but I also miss the food at Hawaii like poke, Hawaiian food, loco moco, etc. So far, I have not seen any restaurants that sell it. Don't get me wrong. Hong Kong has good food ranging from different cuisines. They are delicious for a reasonable price. Ever since I came here for exchange, I ate Cantonese cuisine the most. The way HK people prepare the food is quite similar to how my parents would cook, which is nice. But when I eat it, it has a different feeling compare to when my family makes it.

52 views

Recent Posts

See All

My Thoughts on Study Abroad

Living in Hong Kong is always something I want to do. As a kid, I had always travel back to Mainland China every summer to visit my relatives and to have fun. However, I seldom got the chance to explo

Semester Ended Unexpectedly

Sadly to say that my study abroad at the City University of Hong Kong has ended more than a month early due to the mass protest. The protest had gotten out of hand to the point where the school campus

©2019 by Wendy Li. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page