top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureWendy

Semester Ended Unexpectedly

Sadly to say that my study abroad at the City University of Hong Kong has ended more than a month early due to the mass protest. The protest had gotten out of hand to the point where the school campus and student residence got wreck bad. Due to the destructions and the school primarily focusing on people's safety, the university had officially announced that the semester is over. There will be no online classes to substitute for onsite class teaching. All students are required to finish the remaining assignments assigned by the professor. That's it. This does not only apply to my university but all universities in Hong Kong.


My Thoughts

Before leaving Hawaii, my home university did email me saying if I want to back out from study abroad. I thought of this option very seriously, but in the end, I chose to continue this path. Originally, I thought the protest would die down eventually and everything will be peaceful again. However, I did not foresee that the situation would have escalated so much. But I don't regret making this choice. For sure my study abroad experiences are slightly different from the rest, but I still had fun.

- I made several new friends around the world and learned about themselves, their culture, their home country, etc.

- Explored Hong Kong

- Enjoyed the food

- Traveled

- Improving my Cantonese and Mandarin

- Learned to be more independent

- Dorm Life

- Reconnecting to my Chinese culture

- Gained New Perspectives

- So Much More!


I am quite sad that the semester did not end the way I have imagined. I was not able to say goodbye to the people I met. I feel somewhat unsatisfied as I have not gotten the chance to explore more of Hong Kong. There are so many other places I want to go and do.


Big Thank You!

Thank you to my parents for letting me study abroad.

Thank you to my friends for encouraging me.

Thank you to Freeman for the study abroad scholarship.

Thank you to my home university for letting me continuing study abroad.

Thank you to my new friends for making this study abroad memorable.

Thank you to CityU for looking out for my safety.

Thank you to my relatives in China for all the help.

86 views

Recent Posts

See All

My Thoughts on Study Abroad

Living in Hong Kong is always something I want to do. As a kid, I had always travel back to Mainland China every summer to visit my relatives and to have fun. However, I seldom got the chance to explo

Feeling Homesick

As the semester is almost ending and finals are slowly creeping in, I have started to feel homesick. Although I got to interact with new people from all around the world, I miss the interaction betwee

bottom of page