top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureWendy

My Thoughts on Study Abroad

Living in Hong Kong is always something I want to do. As a kid, I had always travel back to Mainland China every summer to visit my relatives and to have fun. However, I seldom got the chance to explore Hong Kong expect from landing and catching flights from Hong Kong International Airport. At a young age, I was intrigued by their culture, food, and living style as the freest economy and country in China. Thus, in college, I made sure to take the opportunity to apply for study abroad.


Growing up from a Chinese family, I thought I would be able to adjust myself living in Hong Kong with ease, but that wasn't the case. As I had been living in the USA for years, I am used to the American culture. The way I speak, dress, hand motions, etc. were slightly different from Hong Kong citizens. Moreover, comparing Hawaii to Hong Kong, the living environment is completely different. Although Hawaii is 15 times bigger than Hong Kong, Hong Kong has almost everything you can imagine. There's mountains, harbors, skyscrapers all in one city. The urban landscape has a mix of tradition and modernity that's hard to beat. The food is delicious and fresh at an affordable price. The transportation system is very efficient, especially the MTR. Each train would arrive every 2-3 min. interval and can get to your destination within a short amount of time. I could go on and on why Hong Kong is one of the best places to live in or visit, but I will stop here.


There were a few adversities that I had encountered. The first one would be reading Chinese characters. For example, when ordering food at a local restaurant, the majority of the time the menu is only written in traditional Chinese characters. I had learned to read Chinese characters before, but only simplified characters. Though, I could depict some traditional ones. The next one would be communication. Not everyone can speak English in Hong Kong, so it was somewhat challenging. Because I feel more comfortable speaking in English, I primarily prefer to speak English with people first. But there was time I had to speak Cantonese and Mandarin. For example, I had been approached by locals several times speaking to me in Chinese because of my appearance. Yet, I am grateful because it allows me to practice and improve my Chinese once again.


Another adversity I had encountered was the protest going on in Hong Kong. Hong Kong is actually a very safe place. There's hardly any burglary, murder, suicide, and so forth. It just so happened that during the semester I study abroad, a protest was going on. The protest started in June and is still happening even when I came back. I have seen several protest events ranging from peaceful to violent. Because of the violent protests, the protestors had wrecked their own beautiful city. It also caused people being afraid to go out since they might get hurt, having fewer tourists coming to Hong Kong, and making the next batch of study abroad students thinking of backing out.


Studying abroad opened my eyes to the world around me. This is a lesson I know I cannot learn in the classroom. It required exposing myself to a new situation filled with new people and new experiences. I am so grateful for the opportunity I had. If there were one piece of advice I can offer to younger students considering studying abroad, it would be to GO! Go out into the world and experience life. Find someplace that excites you. It is 100% worth it. Study abroad was one of the most formative experiences, and I know I will carry the lessons I learned in Hong Kong with me for the rest of my life.


Ten Helpful Tips From Me

1. Plan for study abroad as early as possible

Decide when do you want to study abroad and start planning. Planning ahead is crucial because there is a lot of details you will need to take care of before you study abroad. I recommend that you start planning at least 6 months in advance of when you plan to leave so you have time to get everything done.

2. Get your visas sorted well in advance

Make sure to research all the details and obtain your student visa in advance. Talk to the study abroad advisor at your University or the University you got accepted into if you're unsure about the process.

3. Make copies of all your important documents

Ranging from flight itineraries to passports to other essential documents. You will be safe and prepare no matter what happens. If any of them get lost, stolen, or damaged, you will have the proof right there for you.

4. Get a local SIM card

Getting a local SIM card would save you from paying more for calls and using data. In Hong Kong, you can easily purchase one at any stalls at Sham Shui Po for the cheapest or go to any cellular stores.

5. Download Apps

Apps are very useful and can come in handy whether it's for navigation, finding the best food place, etc.

Some Apps I download in Hong Kong

a. OpenRice - Similar to Yelp where it recommends food places

b. Citymapper - Similar to Google Map where it helps get you to a location. Many locals use this app because it shows real-time departures, transit maps, line status, and real-time disruption alerts. It also has uber integration, bike routing, and live bike share info.

*Google Map does not work well at Hong Kong

c. MTR Mobile - the app contains trip planning, information on station facilities, shops, exits, and nearby malls, and there’s also a helpful section for tourists who want to visit popular attractions.

6. Have an open mind

Don't think of the stereotypes. Instead, open your eyes, relax, and breathe in the culture. You may see that many of your assumptions about life overseas were incorrect. Resist the urge to think or say, "Well, in my country we do things differently". Go along for the ride.

7. Learn new things

Don't block out other experiences. By saying yes to as many new experiences as you can, you will take home an arsenal of different skills you hadn't imagined.

8. Deal with (possible) homesickness

Hiding or ignoring these feelings will only make them worse. So, you should keep in regular contact with your family and friends. But don't forget your new friends and your new environment. There's so much to discover, and keeping yourself busy is a good way to cope with homesickness. Besides, missing the comfort of your home usually won't last forever. Later, you might feel "homesick" from your adopted country because I did.

9. Expand your social circle

Don't just mingle with other studies abroad students, but also make an effort to befriend locals. Having at least one local friend will open doors up for you that only mean a better understanding of your adopted culture but also lead to potential invitations to events.

10. Study

Don't lose sight of why you are abroad in the first place. There will be times when your workload is high, you feel homesick, or just don't want to study at all. But motivate yourself and dive right to it.

56 views

Recent Posts

See All

Semester Ended Unexpectedly

Sadly to say that my study abroad at the City University of Hong Kong has ended more than a month early due to the mass protest. The protest had gotten out of hand to the point where the school campus

Feeling Homesick

As the semester is almost ending and finals are slowly creeping in, I have started to feel homesick. Although I got to interact with new people from all around the world, I miss the interaction betwee

bottom of page