top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureWendy

Orientation Week & Week 1

Orientation Week

Orientation week was such a fun week. During the orientation week, the College of Business and the Exchange Student Club planned out so many activities and information sessions for us. These activities and information sessions allowed me and the other exchange students to meet and hang out with each other. As I attended these events, I was able to make new friends from all around the world.


Class Registration

The process to register for courses at the City University of Hong Kong is complicated compared to UH Manoa. There were quite a few restrictions that prevented the exchange students to take those certain courses, such as prerequisites, courses only for certain majors, etc. It took a while for me to get a hang of how to add/drop my courses. Nevertheless, I was able to finalize my schedule.

Courses: Equivalencies:

CB3410 - Financial Management BUS 314

GE1202 - Managing Your Personal Finances BUS 367F/FIN 301

GE2335 - Business Programming with Spreadsheet Not Transferable

MGT3302 - Interactive Skills Workshop Business BUS 367M


Student Residence

I was very fortunate to be given a spot to live at the dorm. The student residence has a total of 11 halls and I got assigned to Lee Shau Kee Hall (Hall 6). Each hall has its tradition, and hall 6 has established the tradition of "home sweet home". They believed that all LSK residents belong to one big family. Residents will accept anyone to live in harmony, be open and care for their fellow hall mates, laugh together, cry together, and grow together.


My Thoughts on Hong Kong So Far

  • The food is relevantly cheap and delicious compared to Hawaii.

  • The weather is unpredictable. Even though the weather forecast shows it will be sunny all day. Out of nowhere it will start to rain.

  • Getting around in Hong Kong is very convenient thanks to the multi transportation system (MTR, Bus, Ferry, Mini Bus, Tramways, Taxis).

  • The culture is quite diverse. However, I do see some heavy influences from the UK.

  • Hong Kong residents are nice, helpful, and understanding.

73 views

Recent Posts

See All

My Thoughts on Study Abroad

Living in Hong Kong is always something I want to do. As a kid, I had always travel back to Mainland China every summer to visit my relatives and to have fun. However, I seldom got the chance to explo

Semester Ended Unexpectedly

Sadly to say that my study abroad at the City University of Hong Kong has ended more than a month early due to the mass protest. The protest had gotten out of hand to the point where the school campus

Feeling Homesick

As the semester is almost ending and finals are slowly creeping in, I have started to feel homesick. Although I got to interact with new people from all around the world, I miss the interaction betwee

bottom of page